Gershwin, An American in Paris
Corigliano, Violin Concerto "The Red Violin"
Sibelius, Symphony N° 7
Teatro SODRE, Montevideo, Uruguay

EL PAIS Uruguay

Julio César Huertas, Uruguay, 19/09/2013

A great evening with Lano and St. John

The concert began with George Gershwinʼs symphonic poem, An American in Paris, a work which describes the impressions of an American tourist in the midst of joyous Paris of 1928 with all the typical street sounds, replete with taxi horns and an atmosphere of contagious optimism. Nevertheless, nostalgia enters when the foreign visitor longs for his homeland such that we hear blues as one can only hear in North America. In his rendition, Lano not only created a sonorous and expressive orchestra sound, but also achieved an extraordinary rhythmic accuracy and swing.

The next work of the evening was the Uruguayan and South American premier of John Coriglianoʼs Violin Concerto “ The Red Violin” - so named for the workʼs use of Coriglianoʼs music from his Academy Award-winning film score, “The Red Violin”, directed by François Girard in 1998. The work is dedicated to Coriglianoʼs father, who was the distinguished Concertmaster of the New York Philharmonic for many years.

The interpretation by the Canadian violinist, Lara St. John confirmed that this artist is the feminine version of the genius, Nicolas Paganini, for she incorporates the three fundamental conditions of artistic genius: absolute technical mastery, a refined musical sense and the intensity to convey her interpretation with clarity and conviction. One could not but be astonished at her prodigious memory in such a difficult work as this with its extreme technical challenges and synchronism with the orchestra.

For his part, Lano demonstrated a thorough mastery of the dynamic of the score, exposing with clarity the many musical and textural contrasts and the heterogenous nature of the elements of which this complex work is constructed, obtaining both precision as well as fascinating changes of musical atmosphere.

The soloist offered as an encore the beautiful Gigue from Bachʼs Partita N° 2 in which she again demonstrated both virtuosity and deep expressivity.

For the completion of this magnificent evening, we heard the shortest of the symphonies of Jean Sibelius, the Symphony N° 7, unique in having but one extended movement. Although considered the farewell opus of the composer, it is a work absent of sentimentality. Lano offered a version of great refinement of this beautiful work, leaving the public with the desire to continue listening.